The Hokianga is the area around the natural harbour and estuary, which is also known as the Hokianga River, or just 'the River' to the locals.

The area around the harbour is geographically divided into three major areas:

The South Hokianga which includes the settlements of: Waikara, Waipoua, Wekaweka, Waimamaku, Waiotemarama, Waiwhatawhata, Omapere, Opononi, Pakanae, Koutu, Whirinaki, Rawene, Waima, Taheke and Moehau.

The Top of the Harbour, which includes the settlements of: Horeke, Motukiore, Utakura and Mangamuka, Waihou Valley and Wairere.

The North Hokianga, which includes the settlements of: Broadwood, Pawarenga, Panguru, Mitimiti, Motukaraka, Motuti, Rangi Point and Kohukohu.

The larger settlements generally comprise a General Store, a service station, one or two other shops and a hotel. The smaller settlements ar just a group of dwellings clustered together.

All of them have one or more churches and one or more marae.

For approximate travel times and distances around the Far North District, go to website>>